Adoption Update

The most up-to-date adoption news

Black Family Adopts White Girl

In case you missed this article from Newsweek, you might want to check it out. It’s tagline is “What a white girl taught a black family about race in the Obama-era.”  This article was posted in April 2009, so I am a bit late on finding it. But nevertheless, I am betting some of you are bit late too! The article points out many hot topics in the foster care and the adoption world. Mainly, white people raising black children and transracial adoption. For me, this is a first where I see a black family raising a white child. Lots of people of strong opinions about this topic of transracial adoptions. This is a classic case of no one stepping up to the plate to give this girl a family. So, the Riding family did and they should be honored for it.

February 13, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Hello!
    I am a textile designer and mama to a little girl born in Haiti, after becoming a mixed adoptive family I realized how limited the textile world (blankets, bedding, clothing…) was for families like mine. Last year I started designing prints for the families I see around me every day and have just launched a new line called “The New American Family” I would be delighted if you took a look and maybe if you liked it shared the news on your site. There are prints with two papas and their kiddos, two mamas and a little girl, single parents and mixed families, adoptive parents and biological parents.
    You can see the line here:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/manoallamano

    Thank you for your time!

    Comment by haitian american family of three | March 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ll take a look! Sounds cute and I would love to help promote your business. I’ll let you know when I post about it.

      Comment by adoptionupdate | March 21, 2010 | Reply

    • I did a quick blurb about you today. Hope it sends some traffic your way. Let me know if you want me to add anything to it. I can!

      Comment by adoptionupdate | April 9, 2010 | Reply

  2. Oh I look forward to reading this article. We have at least one family from our AGAPE office that is black and adopted a white child and many who are white that have adopted a black child.
    oh oh how I pray for the day where color, race and such aren’t issues in adoption. I realize that we must recognize and honor a culture a child came from. no question there….
    but twice now DFACS have not found us suitable merely because of the color of our skin. sigh…….It’s VERY frustrating!!!!

    Thanks for all the helpful info on the site!!!

    Comment by rachel | March 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment