Adoption Update

The most up-to-date adoption news

T-Shirts

I am curious what you think about the T-shirts that many potential adoptive parents and adoptive parents who are in the waiting stages of their adoption wear. T-shirts that say things like, “Pregnant on Paper”, “Adoption Mama,” “No labor pains yet, but the paper cuts sure do hurt,” “Adoption Rocks”. I read on many blogs, forums and in magazines a mixed group of reactions to these T-shirts. Do you think people wear them to make themselves feel better, to relate it to a pregnancy, to lift their spirits about having to adopt because they cannot conceive, to simply share their excitement, to boast, what do you think? Do you wear them? What do you think when you see someone wearing one?

July 3, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I ❤ this shirt! It's perfect & says hello I'm a future mom too!!

    Comment by Jeri & Sarah | July 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. ps where can I get one?

    Comment by Jeri & Sarah | July 3, 2010 | Reply

    • You can try adoption shoppe, adoption bug and adoption mama. They have some cute options!

      Comment by adoptionupdate | July 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. As an adoptee, these shirts make me throw up in my mouth. It’s just another way paps fool themselves into thinking raising an adoptee is the same as raising a biological child. No one is “paper pregnant” unless you are making construction paper fetuses.

    Also, since pre-birth matching is highly coercive, why would ANYONE want to advertise that fact?

    You will never have “labor pains” if you do not have your own child. Stop making a mockery out of what our first Mothers go through. Seriously- it’s disgusting, and your uterine envy is showing.

    Adoption is NOT the new pregnant. It’s the same as the old adoption. Meaning a child loses his or her first Mother, father, grandparents, aunts, uncles, culture, identity, heritage and possibly country.

    It’s adoption. Period. Stop with the mockery and the madness.

    Comment by Linda | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’m an adoptive parent that falls on the “not a fan” side. There are a lot of reasons, but on the most basic level, I’ve yet to see one that passes the “Would I be comfortable wearing this in front of my children’s first parents” test.

    I hope this doesn’t come across as too spammy, but I dug into the issue a little more in a blog post awhile back: http://www.productionnotreproduction.com/2010/02/my-t-shirt-today-is-solid-grey.html. There was some good discussion in the comments–lots of interesting points raised on both sides.

    Comment by Heather | July 7, 2010 | Reply

  5. I have to agree with Linda here in that the shirts with the cutesy sayings make me want to vomit. I just don’t get it. And yes, I’m an adoptee…and I am reunited with my natural family. If someone wore that shirt around my mother, I’d want to punch them.

    Other than that, I have no opinion on the matter whatsoever.

    Comment by Christina | July 8, 2010 | Reply

  6. I have mixed feelings. My husband & I are in preparation to adopt. We’re very excited. It’s not that I’m envious of women who can conceive, actually I’m extremely happy for women who are able to bring a miracle into the world. I however, have the right to be overjoyed about my plans to become a mother. Think about it, pregnant women are also known to wear shirts that advertise their happiness, “Mom to be” & “Pregnant” with the arrow directed to their belly’s. It’s just about wanting others to celebrate & acknowledge your future blessing whether it’s your adoptive or birth child. I will say this SOME of the shirts are crossing the line…Sorry Ang I’m taken. Just a little much for me. Last comment, when my adoptive child is lets say 5 yrs old & I want to wear an adoption shirt in public, I feel it is essential to be respectful & courteous of my child by asking “are u ok with Mommy wearing this, how does it make u feel, etc.” If the reply was no, than that would be the end of that, as I wouldn’t want my kid to be anyone’s spectacle. As for now, I am on cloud 9 waiting for my kid (we’re adopting b’tween the ages of 3-7) I just want to share my bliss with the world, is all.

    Comment by Grace | July 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. I’m a reunited first mother. Why should the adoptive parents take credit for something they didn’t do?

    I’m the one who almost died giving birth.

    I’m the one who was left with stretch marks, burst veins, and a lower intestine so badly torn it doesn’t work anymore.

    Most of all, I’m the one who watched over my son when he was in intensive care. I’m the one who paid those medical bills – not my son’s adoptive parents.

    I am the one left with a broken heart when the bribed social worker spotted my beautiful blonde blue-eyed baby and took him from me and his father just because I wasn’t wearing a ring.

    My son would be disgusted if his adoptive mother wore that.

    Comment by unicorn | July 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

