Adoption Update

The most up-to-date adoption news

CNN Reports on Transracial Adoption

(CNN) — “White people adopt black kids to make themselves feel good… A black child needs black parents to raise it.” “Maybe she adopted one because the blacks in the community wouldn’t step forward and adopt?” “What’s the big deal? If no white person ever adopted a black child, they’d be saying why don’t white people adopt black children.” “Who cares what race they are? A woman got a child, a child got a mother…it’s BEAUTIFUL!!! And yes I am black…if it matters.”

These impassioned comments and thousands more poured in earlier this week when CNN published a story on the stirred-up debate surrounding Sandra Bullock’s recent adoption. A People magazine cover photo of the actress beaming at her newly adopted black infant son, and the discussions that have followed, clearly hit a nerve.

So when it comes to transracial adoptions in this country, where are we?

To read more click here

Thoughts anyone?

May 8, 2010 - Posted by | adoption, International Adoption | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I have a transracial family through adoption. My son is African American and my husband and I are Caucasion. We also have three biological sons that are Causcasion. I adopted my son at about the same time as Sandra Bullock adopted hers and I have had people make comments comparing me to her. I don’t think there is anything wrong with transracial adoption. We sought to adopt a child that needed a home, not a child of a particular race. So what if that child was AA or some other race.
    I do acknowledge that not everyone in the country sees it that way. I live in the south and have had some people make some rude and insensitive comments when my family and I are out in public. But we are prepared for that and just ignore them or answer them as kindly as possible. I would hope that as a country we can move past the race issue and just adopt a child because they need a home and not have it be about race.

    Comment by armloadsofblessings | September 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

